For most of Dubai's off-plan market history, bank leverage during construction meant one thing: 50% loan-to-value, released only once a project hit 40% physical completion, and only through a short list of pre-vetted Tier-1 developers. Buyers self-funded the rest and waited.
Starting in April 2026, that started changing — not through new central-bank regulation, but through a wave of bank-developer partnerships that each bend the old rule differently. If you're evaluating an off-plan purchase right now, which product applies depends entirely on which bank and which developer, so it's worth knowing what's actually on the table.
Dubai Islamic Bank — the widest-reaching product
Launched August 2026, DIB's standalone off-plan product is the one exception to the "developer-specific" pattern: it's open across any approved freehold developer, to UAE nationals, residents and non-residents alike. Shariah-compliant (Ijarah/Murabaha structure), it finances up to 50% of the property's value, releasing funds progressively against construction milestones. The distinctive feature is the payment structure during construction: the buyer pays only the profit component, not principal — full amortization only kicks in at handover or 24 months in, whichever comes first. That's a materially softer cash-flow profile than the standard model.
ADCB — developer-specific, but expanding fast
ADCB has moved the quickest on named partnerships, launching three in succession:
- Ellington Properties (August 2026): up to 50% LTV, pre-approval valid 12 months and renewable to handover, promotional 3.49% fixed for 3 years, fees waived for a limited period.
- Dubai Holding Real Estate (September 15, 2026), covering Palm Jebel Ali, The Acres and Nad Al Sheba Gardens: same 3.49% rate, but the qualifying gate is different — instead of hitting a construction-completion percentage, eligibility is based on the buyer having paid 50% of the property's value. Pre-approval extends to 18 months.
- Emaar (July 29, 2026), the first of the three.
Emirates NBD — earliest-stage clarity
Signed April 16, 2026, Emirates NBD's partnership with Dubai Holding Real Estate covers Meraas, Nakheel and Dubai Properties developments. The pitch is different again: rather than a rate promotion, it's about giving buyers mortgage clarity from the earliest stage of a purchase — indicative affordability and rates before committing, rather than only becoming mortgage-eligible near completion. Eligibility to apply requires both 50% of the property value paid and 30% construction completion. A parallel arrangement with Sobha Realty launched the same week on the same model.
How to read these against each other
None of these change the underlying debt-burden ratio (50% of gross income) or standard age/tenor limits — they only restructure the off-plan-specific LTV and payment-timing mechanics, each in a different way:
| Bank × Developer | LTV | Rate | Gate |
|---|---|---|---|
| DIB (any developer) | 50% | Profit-rate, not disclosed | Milestone-based, interest-only during build |
| ADCB × Ellington | 50% | 3.49% fixed, 3yr | 12-month pre-approval |
| ADCB × Dubai Holding RE | 50% | 3.49% fixed, 3yr | 50% equity paid, 18-month pre-approval |
| Emirates NBD × Dubai Holding RE / Sobha | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 50% equity paid + 30% construction |
The practical takeaway: these are named partnerships, not portability across the market. A 3.49% ADCB rate applies to Ellington or specific Dubai Holding RE communities — it doesn't follow you to a different developer's project. Before assuming a rate or LTV applies to what you're buying, confirm which bank-developer pairing actually covers it.
Buying off-plan and want to know which of these financing products fits a specific project? Ask dxbpropy.ai — it can tell you the developer, and you can check the bank partnerships that cover it.
Sources: Khaleej Times, "UAE banks roll out easier financing options for off-plan homebuyers" and "ADCB launches off-plan mortgage scheme", August 2026; Arabian Business, September 2026; Emirates NBD / Nakheel / Dubai Holding press release, April 16, 2026; Gulf News, April 2026. Figures are indicative; confirm current rates and eligibility directly with the bank or a licensed mortgage broker.